Akwa Ibom Assembly to Confirm Commissioners, SA nominees, Thursday 23.

Latest News

The Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly will confirm the nominees for Commissioners and Special Assistants to Governor Udom Emmanuel on Thursday, July 23.

This is following the screening of the nominated persons for appointment into the State Executive Council by the lawmakers.

Following a preliminary screening on the eight nominees by the House’ Committee on Justice, Human Rights and Public Petitions conducted on Tuesday, July 21, Chairman of the committee, Hon. Barr. Victor Ekwere said his committee screened four of the nominees the previous day and concluded with the remaining four the following day (Tuesday).

Also Read: Project Tour is to Put Govt Permanently in the Limelight – Info Boss

He explained that the exercise was smooth and that the Committee had not received any petition against the nominees.

Ekwere who represents Mkpat-Enin State Constituency in the State Assembly described their nomination as ‘fantastic, and expressed hope that they would add value to the State Executive Council.

The lawmaker said with the conclusion of the preliminary screening by his committee, the next step would be the confirmation and ratification of the nominees by the House of Assembly after his committee would have submitted report to the House for further legislative action.

“As a committee we’ve done the needful and we’ve concluded our assignment. We screened 4 of the nominees on Monday and today we’ve completed the 4 that were left”

“Everything being equal, the next step is their confirmation. We’ve not received petition from any quarters”.

Recall that Speaker of the Assembly, Rt. Hon. Aniekan Bassey had given the screening committee, one week to complete its assignment and report back to the House.

The nominees screened on Monday, July 20, were: Prof. Eno Ibanga, Dr. Ini Adiakpan, Comrade (Barr) Ini Ememobong and Hon. Frank Archibong, while, Dr. Augustine Vincent Umoh, Imoh Moffat, Elder Amanam Nkanang and Mrs Enobong Mbobo had their turns on Tuesday, July 21.

Members of the screening committee were: the Deputy Speaker, Rt. Hon. Felicia Bassey; the House Leader, Rt. Hon. Udo Kierian Akpan; Hon. Barr. Ese Umoh, Rt. Hon. Mark Esset, Rt. Hon. Uduak Odudoh, Rt. Hon. Anefiok Dennis, Hon. Barr. Otobong Bob, Rt. Hon. Idongesit Ntekpere, among others.

Credit: Mfonobong Ukpong