AKHA Confirms would-be Commissioners, SAs

Latest News Politics

The Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly has ratified and confirmed the names of nominees for Commissioner and Special Adviser to be appointed by into the state executive cabinet.

The nominees were confirmed during the Thursday, July 4, plenary at the Chambers of the State Legislature, following a report of the House Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights, Ethics and Public Petition.

According to the committee chairman, Hon. Victor Ekwere, the nominees met the constitutional requirements for appointments as enshrined in section 192 (4) and 106 of the 1999 constitution, with no adverse report against them.

Also Read: Stock Market Remains Downbeat prior to pre-Airtel Listing

Ekwere further said that the committee has also found the nominees to be men and women of intelligence who will add value to the administrative machinery of the state, the completion agenda.

The cleared persons for positions of Commissioner are: Mr Akan Okon, Arch. Ime Ekpo, Mr Nse Essien, Barr. Uwemedimo Nwoko, Mr. Monday Uko, Mr. Linus Nkan, Hon. Okpulupum Etteh, Mr Ephraim Inyangeyen, Barr. Ekong Sampson, Mr Charles Udoh and Orman Esin.

Others are, Mr Iniobong Essien, Dr Dominic Ukpong, Dr Glory Edet, Mr Udo Ekpenyong, Mr Uno Etim Uno, Mr Rapheal Bassey, Mr Victor Bassey and Prince Ukpong Akpabio.

Those nominated as Special Advisers are Sunday Ekanem Ibuot and Mrs Ekemini David Umoh.