AKHA Inaugurates 26 Standing Committees

Latest News Politics

The Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly has inaugurated 26 standing Committees to aid the Legislature deliver on her legislative bidding.

Inaugurating the standing committees, the Speaker, Rt Hon. Aniekan Bassey stated that the various Committees will start work immediately.

One of the standing Committees inaugurated is the House of Assembly Committee on Petroleum, chaired by Hon. Frank Asuquo Okon with Hon. Godwin Ekpo as Vice Chairman. Members of the Committee are Honourables Nse Essien, Effiong Bassey, Asuquo Archibong, Mfon Idung, Charity Ido, Kufre Edidem, Anietie Eka and Mark Esset.

Also Read: PDP Congratulates Akwa Ibom Reappointed Commissioners

The Committee on Rural Development and Public Utilities has Rt Hon. Usoro Akpanusoh as its Chairman, Hon. Udeme Otong, Vice Chairman. Members are Rt Honourables Emmanuel Ekpenyong, Idongesit Ntekpere, Effiong Bassey, Felicia Bassey, Mark Esset, Aniefiok Dennis Akpan, Nse Ekwere, Asuquo Udo, Godwin Ekpo and Kufre Edidem.

Intergovernmental Committee is headed by Hon. Ifiok Udoh while Rt Hon. Usoro Akpanusoh is the Vice Chairman.

Others are: Committee on Public Accounts with Hon. Charity Ido as Chairman and Rt Hon. Aniekan Up as Vice Chairman. Committee on Local Government having Rt Hon. Mark Esset as Chairman and Asuquo Archibong, Vice Chairman. Also is the Committee on Finance and Appropriations Chaired by Rt Hon. Uduak Odudoh and Vice Chaired by Effiong Bassey.

Also inaugurated were: Committee on Security, Youth and Sports manned by Rt Hon. Nse Essien as Chairman and Kufre Edidem as Vice Chairman; Committee on Niger Delta Development Commission with Hon. Anietie Eka, Chairman and Oto-Obong Bob as Vice Chairman; Committee on Labour and Productivity Chaired by Rt Hon. Idongesit Ntekpere with Ifiok Udoh as Vice Chairman; Committe on Agriculture headed by Hon. Asuquo Udo with Okon Frank being the Vice Chairman.

Chaired by Rt Hon. Aniefiok Dennis is the Committee on Information and Vice Chaired by Victor Ekwere while Udeme Otong heads the Committee with David Lawrence as Vice. The Committee on Education is headed by Hon. Godwin Ekpo with Udo Kierian as Vice.

The Committee on Women Affairs is Chaired by Rt Hon. Felicia Bassey with Hon. Charity Ido acting as Vice Chairman. For Committee on Lands and Housing, Rt Hon. Udo Kierian Akpan acts as Chairman with David Lawrence as Vice Chairman.

Committee on Science and Technology headed by Rt Hon. Aniekan Bassey while Mark Esset is the Vice Chairman; Committee on Works and Transport, Rt Hon. David Lawrence – Chairman, Nse Essien, Vice Chairman; Committee on Economic Planning manned by Hon. Mfon Idung with Anietie Eka – Vice Chairman.

Committee on Business, Rules and Ethics is headed by Hon. Otobong Bob with niefiok Dennis as Vice Chairman. Committee on Environment and Mineral Resources headed by Rt Hon. Asuquo Archibong and Mark Esset, Vice Chairman. Committee on House Services Chaired by Rt Hon. Effiong Bassey and Mfon Idung, Vice Chairman.

Hon. Kufre Edidem, Chairman, Committee on Commerce and Tourism, Asuquo Udoh, Vice Chairman; Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Petition, Hon. Victor Ekwere – Chairman, Uduak Odudoh – Vice Chairman.

Committee on Special Duties, Project Monitoring and Aviation Services – Rt Hon. Aniekan Uko – Chairman and Emmanuel Ekpenyong – Vice Chairman; Committee on Parliamentary Affairs – Rt Hon. Aniekan Bassey Chairman and Felicia Bassey – Vice Chairman and finally the House of Assembly Committee on Boundary having Rt Hon. Emmanuel Ekpenyong as Chairman and Effiong Bassey as Vice Chairman.