Akwa Ibom Inaugurates Committee to Implement Minimum Wage

Finance Latest News

In line with Governor Udom Emmanuel’s promise to pay the approved minimum wage of N30,000 to Akwa Ibom workers, a committee has been inaugurated which will work out modalities for the implementation of the new Wage.

The State service Head, Mrs. Ekereobong Akpan who inaugurated the committee on Thursday, May 16, mandated it to submit its report a month’s time.

Assuring that the new minimum wage will be paid soon as the necessary documentations are concluded by the inaugurated Committee, the Head of Service expressed confidence in the ability of the Committee to perform creditably within the time given.

Also Read: Insecurity: Uyo LG Partners PCRC on Reduction Measures

Mrs. Akpan noted that Akwa Ibom was the first state to constitute and inaugurate an Implementation Committee in response to the payment of the new minimum wage, adding that Governor Emmanuel is set to effect the new salary structure in the state.

At the event was the Chairman of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), Comrade Sunny James and his Trade Union Congress Counterpart (TUC), Comrade Akamba Awah, who commended the state government for commencing action on the new Minimum Wage implementation.

They acknowledged Governor Emmanuel’s prompt and regular payment of workers’ salaries and pensions, even before the end of the month, and pledged the Unions’ continued support for his administration, while hoping that the Federal Government will come up with the necessary documents to aid, guide and ease the negotiation process.

The Inaugurated Committee is Chaired by the Head of Civil Service, Mrs. Ekereobong Akpan and has the following others: Permanent Secretary, Office of the Head of Civil Service, Dr. Mrs. Comfort Archibong; Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance, Mrs. Emette Imuk; Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development, Labour and Manpower Development, Dr. Mrs. Valerie Obot; Permanent Secretary, Local Government Service Commission, Dr. Otuekong Ukut; Solicitor General and Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Justice, Barr. Uduak John Eyo-nsa; Accountant General, Pastor Uwem Andrew Essien; Head Budget, Mr. Otu E. Asuquo; Permanent Secretary, Department of Establishments represented by Mrs. Emem Umoh and Special Adviser, Labour, Comrade Unyime Usoro (Govt).

Others are, Chairman, NLC; Chairman, TUC; NULGE President, Comrade Anestina Iweh, and Chairman, Joint Public Service Negotiating Council, Comrade Tina Essien (Labour).