Ephraim Inyangeyen Gets Accolades on Investiture as Fellow of the Academy of Politics

Latest News Politics

Erstwhile Chairman of Ikot Ekpene Local Government area, Hon. Chief John Asikpo and one-time Transition Committee Chairman of Ikot Abasi, Hon. Ubong Ekefre, have lauded the Akwa Ibom state Commissioner for Works, Mr Ephraim Inyangeyen, over his investiture as a Fellow of the Academy of Politics.

Speaking to newsmen after the Commissioner was honoured alongside the Governor of Ebonyi State, Chief Engr. David Umahi as an Honorary Fellow of the Academy of Politics by the Nigerian Political Science Association, the duo described the investiture as well deserved.

Inyangeyen and other distinguished Nigerians had their investiture as the high point of the 32nd Annual Conference of the Nigerian Political Science Association, (NPSA), which held at the University of Calabar and was themed: “Governance, Security and Elections in Nigeria”. 

Also Read: Bill for Safety Commission in A’Ibom State Passes Second Reading

President of NPSA, Professor Aloysius-Michael Okolie, in his address, expressed the concern of the Association for the grave challenges confronting the country, including insecurity, the now suspended Rural Grazing Area (RUGA)  Project, the aftermath of the 2019 General Elections, restructuring of the Nigerian political economy, continuous incarceration of the Chibok girls and Leah Sharibu, separatist and secessionist agitations, among others.

Prof. Okolie disclosed that the NPSA will interface with other proactive civil society organizations to project the values of good and responsive governance in Nigeria and beyond and called on the Federal Government to organize an All Nigerian Summit to address the issue of settlement pattern and co-habitation among various nationalities, as well as other challenges bedeviling the nation.

He congratulated the investees, stressing that they would work more closely with NPSA to achieve it’s broad national and global objectives.

Commissioner Inyangeyen who was represented at the event by the former Chairman of Ini Local Government Area, Hon. Etetim Awatim in his response, said he accepts the honour in good faith and expressed gratitude to NPSA for finding him worthy of the honour and investiture.

 Inyangeyen pledged to contribute his quota to help NPSA re-establish her corporate and critical image in Nigeria and beyond with his constant interventions.

The Akwa Ibom Works Commissioner counselled that though there were persistent daunting challenges in Nigeria, “we must not lose hope in the Nigerian project”.

Other prominent Nigerians who received the maiden investiture of Fellow of the Academy of Politics included:  Prof. Bolaji Akinyemi, Prof Adele Jinadu, Prof Okwudiba Nnoli, Prof Ali Danlami Yahaya OFR, Prof Jonah Isawa Elaigwu and Prof Kimse Amamebi Biye Okoko. Others are Prof Aloysius-Michaels Okolie, Prof Hassan A. Saliu and Prof Shuaibu A. Ibrahim. 

Credit: Osondu Ahirika