North-east Insist on Senate Presidency Seat

Senate presidency

Priscilla Christopher

Stakeholders in the North-eastern region have laid claim on the Senate Presidency’s seat on grounds that they have been long marginalized.

A release made available to newsmen from the North East Advocacy Group (NEAG), on Saturday, March 24, had the socio-political group stating that the geo-political zone voted massively for President Buhari in the 2019 presidential elections, and demanded that the announcement of a zoning formula for the principal officers of the incoming National Assembly to avoid rancour.

According tothe release, the group said the urgent announcement of the principal officers would “avert a situation where the zoning is done after candidates have started campaigning, causing a feeling that the zoning is targeted to favour particular individuals.”

They also held that: “The Senate presidency should be zoned to the north-east as the north-central and south-east zones have produced Senate Presidents in the recent past. “In the last 20 years, these zones have occupied the position for a total of 12 years; Sen David Mark (8 years) and Senator Bukola Saraki (4 years)”.

READ ALSO: Buhari Commends FirstBank’s Role in Economic Development

“The zone had earlier produced two Senate presidents in the persons of Chief Ameh Ebute and Senator Iyorchia Ayu. The south-east has also produced Late Senator Evans Enwerem, Late Senator Chuba Okadigbo, Sentor Anyim Pius Anyim and Senator Ken Nnamani who cumulatively occupied the exalted position for period of eight years”.

“In the 2019 general elections, the north-east zone voted massively for President Muhammadu Buhari, becoming the zone that contributed the second highest number of votes to Mr. President. It is only just and fair that the north-east is considered for the third highest position of the country after the positions of president and vice president, considering the electoral contribution of the zone to Mr. President’s victory at the polls.”

According to, the release was signed by some leaders of the group including; Mohammed Kumalia, Ibrahim Zailani, Adamu Modibbo, Abubakar Muazu, Titsi Ganama and Ammuna Ibrahim Khadi.

Meanwhile, reports that a pro-democracy group, Sustainable Democracy Agenda (SUDA), has urged senators-elect to support the bid of the current Senate leader; Senator Ahmad Lawan, to emerge as the next Senate president.

The group’s convener, Malam Ibrahim Usman, made the appeal in a statement sent to journalists on Sunday, March 24.

Usman said Lawan’s emergence would ensure a united and vibrant senate ready to face the onerous legislative works ahead.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *